Skip to content
June 1, 2010 / Lemons and Roses

Why Do Gay People Get The Rainbow?

First of all, I don’t want to start off by saying “I have gay friends, why some of my best friends are gay”. That would not be the truth. Not because I don’t like gay people, but mostly because I don’t have many friends. Probably because people are afraid to be around such an inflammatory person – inflammatory thoughts, deeds, responses, and I am mostly a vegetarian, eat lots of bean products, am frequently fired up and full of hot air for one reason or another.

I am okay with gay marriage, as long as it’s serious. Didn’t Jay Leno say gay people should have the same rights to wedded misery as strait people? He’s not the guy I go to for my philosophical compass – but it sure sounds fair to me. It seems unfair to me that a strait set of life partners should be able to share life and work benefits, while other types of life partners share emotions and events of the same magnitude and length, and perhaps a greater depth, due to obstacles often faced, and not be validated.

But why the rainbow? Why do gay people get the rainbow? I love rainbows, and yet to indulge in this love in a public way could greatly reduce my chances of ever being in a nice, loving heterosexual partnership. I am a girl (actually a woman) who doesn’t wear make up or jewelry or dresses. I don’t giggle a lot. I frequently show up at events solo. I can change the oil in my car, and the breaks too. I do basic home repairs (not lately though – obvious if you visit my home). The guys in my class  (Masters in Management) ask me why I don’t have a man – or where my man is. I can tell they are thinking about getting to the gay question, but we are all very politically correct over here in the higher education halls of Southern Oregon. Every once in awhile, some wise ass says I would be nicer if I had a man. As if the penis was the solution to all the world’s problems, and mine in particular. I could go on to talk about how a reduction of peni would probably be more of a solution to the world’s problems. But along with my affection for rainbows, that would just make me seem gay. And then my chances of  finding my way into the ever popular heterosexual relationship would further decline.

The hetero tight rope is a hard one to balance. I’m just a girl (woman) wading through life the best I know. Can I please have my rainbow back?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Carl / Dec 14 2010 7:20 am

    Hey Dude, They are “brakes” not “breaks” “and the breaks too” You should embrace the rainbow because you dont fit the mold either. Its cool embrace your diversity girl (women)

  2. obscureclaire / Dec 14 2010 8:39 am

    Thanks Carl – you are chill.

  3. Pegasus / Jan 11 2012 12:21 am

    What else do they have? You ask why gays ‘get’ the rainbow, like they have already taken everything else. Give Gay people the rainbow. They can’t get married – weather you support it or not – conservative lawmakers will make sure that will not haqppen in this country across the board. So give them the rainbow. Believe it or not, gays are the minority and often their lives can be much more difficult in society than heterosexual people’s lives.

    Give them the rainbow. Why even ask why?

  4. Juniper / Jun 11 2012 6:52 pm

    Have you ever seen Demitri Martin? Because you would definitely love it. And I agree, everyone should have their right to appreciate, and express their appreciation for, rainbows. It honestly doesn’t really bother me if gay people use the rainbow to represent themselves, I am still going to make good use of my rainbow rights and wear them every opportunity that arises, regardless of my sexuality (and if it wasn’t obvious enough, I am, in fact, straight.) I support love in all forms, but rainbows are a separate entity, and cannot be owned!

Leave a Reply

